Structure of government in North Korea

The Democratic People’s Republic of Korea is an Asian country situated in the northern section of the Korean Peninsula. Pyongyang is the nation’s capital and largest city. North Korea is a self reliant socialist state. It can be said as Stalinist dictatorship of the workers party of Korea. North Korea is a one-party state that is guided by the Jucheand Songun ideologies of self-reliance and military prioritisation. The country has a fixed constitution as well as the ‘Ten Principles for the Establishment of a Monolithic Ideological System’ which sets standards for governance and the behaviour of the North Korean people. The main branch of government is the State Affairs Commission of North Korea deliberates and determines the work of defence building of the State, including major North Korean governmental policies which carries out the all instructions of the leadership.
The government has features a unicameral Supreme People’s Assembly (SPA) with 687 members, each of whom are elected every five years. The president of the SPA is titular head of the korea. Constitutionally SPA is highest organ of state power and primary legislative organ. The session of the SPA is held for one or two times in a year for one week or more than one week. The Sessions of the Supreme People’s Assembly (SPA) are overseen by the Premier. The premier also appoint the vice primiers, cabinet ministers. The government is dominated by the members of the workers party of Korea. They also take part in the passing of laws, discussing domestic and foreign policies, appointing cabinet members, and reviewing and approving the state economic strategy. All elections to the assembly are based on a list of WPK- approved candidates who always run unopposed. There are also two parties the Korean Social Party and the Chondoist Chongu Party, it exist nominally, only the WPK holds any power at the national level.
The government is under one man leadership and since it’s independence in 1948 the highest position is only occurred by the three different member of one family (Kimdynasty). The workers party of Korea (WPK) is only lead by the Kim I L sung and his family. The Workers party of Korea comprises of 3 million members and control politics of North Korea. After the death of the Kim I L sung then his son Kim Jong became leader of North Korea an ld now his grand son Kim Jong Un is leader. Since 17 December 2011, Kim Jong Un is supereme head of the country.


North Korean government is totally Authoritarian government. It falls under the one party rule and one man leadership. Based on communist system, in North Korea there is nominally occurs other parties but only Worker’s Party of Korea onlyh old the supreme power. The other parties are only as puppet. So we can say that there is organisational dictatorship.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: